Michael, Patrol Lead

Fischer Patrol Lead

Michael: My name is Michael Fisher. I’m a lieutenant here at Northwest Enforcement, and I’ve been here for just a little over a year. Actually, I interviewed for an on-site position because that’s what was offered on Indeed. During my interview, they asked me if I wanted to be promoted to patrol, so I said yeah. So, I actually got my first promotion during my interview process, which was nice. But we have the care team here, so a lot of times I’ll come across homeless individuals or people who might have mental issues or things like that, and they might just need to be able to find resources. Our care team is really good at that.

Myself and Lieutenant Raleson are both Marines and like-minded. We’re pretty close, so I can always give him a call and send his guys out there to help somebody, even if it’s a call I get for them disturbing or trespassing. Instead of handling it by getting police involved or getting them in trouble, I can make a positive out of a negative and get them some resources and maybe get them on the right track.

Interviewer: When you go home at night, what is it like after a hard day for you and how do you deal with it?

Michael: Well, being on graveyard, it’s, you know, I get home, and my whole family is on the opposite schedule right now. So, for me, I’d pretty much just go home, and I have an hour drive home. So, I kind of do my decompression on the drive home. By the time I get home, it’s, you know, say hi to everybody, get back into the normal life mindset, and then usually, I’m pretty tired by then. So, I just try to pass out because, you know, with an hour drive each way, you know, I could try to get as much sleep as possible before I got to get back up and get back on the road to come back to work.

Interviewer: Yeah, safety first, yeah, for sure.So, let’s see, let’s talk a little bit about your personal life. Do you have kids, a wife?

Michael: Yes, I do. I have a wife. We’ve been together for a little over 10 years. I have five children. Three of them are grown from a previous marriage, but I’ve had custody of them their whole life. So, I have three daughters who are 18, 21, and 23, and the 18-year-old’s still in the house. And then I have my eight, nine-year-old and seven-year-old sons, and they’re wild, you know.

So, in high school, I lettered in tennis. A lot of people don’t expect that, some things that I’ve done in the past. I fought professionally for 20 years, fought in Japan, I’ve been on TV, I’ve been training martial arts for 30 years out. So, I helped run a school in Longview-Kelso area. I don’t know, I was in the Marine Corps for a long time. I’ve been to 23 countries.

Interviewer: In one or two words, how would you sum up Northwest Enforcement?

Michael: I would say it’s the company’s caring, cares about the community.

Interviewer: Thanks so much for joining us for Family Friday.